In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era, the way people make payments has evolved due to the advancement of technology. With the growing popularity of credit cards and debit cards, mobile wallets and another digital payment systempayment system it is quite possible that in the near future currency will no longer accepted for shopping in many parts of the world. While this transformation will happen, but have to recognize other individuals who might not be happy with this change. On the one hand, the shift toward the cashless transaction has many advantages. Digital payments are faster, more convenient and there is no need to carry physical money which can be lost or stolen. Additionally, digital money is easily traceable which helps the government to budget and reduce the chance of tax and also helps to prevent illegal activity. Many countries such as India and Sweden are already moving toward a cashless society. Also, in some parts of urban area shop owners place signs outside of the shops that say card only. However, everyone does not welcome this shift. One major concern is accessibility. Elderly people, for example, may struggle to adapt the new technologies and prefer the familiarity of cash. Similarly, individual, who live in rural or underdeveloped areas don't have a proper internet connection or smartphones which makes digital payments nearly impossible for them. Cash also gives them a sense of privacy which digital amount does not. Also, many people fear that their transactions and payments are recorded or tracked. Moreover, cash can be a security net during the emergencies. In the event of system failure, power outage or cyberattack electronic payment system may be temporarily unavailable. In this situation, cash become a more reliable option. In conclusion, while it is likely that we will see a greater reliance on digital amount in the future but it is not practical or desirable for everyone to completely eliminate cash. so, society needs to consider the needs of its all citizen and no one is left behind in the process of modernization. The best approach for this is to have both payment methods accepted.