Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the education system has changed tremendously. Some believe that students are more keen on learning extra subjects, while others think that attention to studying main subjects is more important to attain a qualification. Both views will be discussed, and I agree with the latter. To begin with, learning extra subjects ensures more knowledge for individuals. This is because, with an additional language, people can access better future opportunities such as getting jobs in foreign countries and making friends abroad. Furthermore, this enhances job prospects and professional growth on an international stage when one knows the local language. For example, The Tribune (2024) states that 80% of international students at New York University were able to speak Japanese as a second language. On the other hand, focusing on main subjects and attaining a degree is also important. This is because having a qualification helps streamline the field of work for an individual. Additionally, these degrees provide opportunities for more stable careers. In contrast, individuals without a bachelor's degree are less likely to succeed in competitive exams. For instance, The Times (2023) reported that 60% of people without a bachelor's degree are being paid less than the minimum wage. In conclusion, studying additional subjects can offer better opportunities in terms of jobs and growth, especially at the global level. However, focusing on main subjects to attain a degree helps streamline one’s career path and provides job stability, which may be lost in the absence of formal qualifications.