Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to the learning benefits and also having better job prospects after graduating, learning various subjects besides the main ones is preferred among some university students. However, due to wasting time and high costs, some suggest that all of the student’s time and energy should be allocated to learning their own lessons and getting a degree. One of the main reasons why students should study different subjects in addition to their original topics in universities is to increase their learning capabilities. If students read about various materials, especially something that is not their usual topic, their brains will make new connections between their neurons which leads to better memory and problem-solving abilities. Thus, not only the quality of learning will increase, but also it will motivate students to focus more on their important subjects. Another reason is having a better job. Studying multiple topics from various scientific fields will help students to know about subjects that are important for others. After graduating, according to what people have learned in universities, they will be able to choose which job opportunity is the best for them and in which one they can have the best chance to understand others’ interests and communicate better and also do effective teamwork and consequently become more successful. On the other hand, some recommend that all of the students ’ energy should be allocated to get a good degree. The main reason for this approach is the importance of time. Nowadays, each field of science has too many details and also unknown information that needs too much work and time to be understood. Thus, students ’ limited time at universities might even not be enough for them to focus on their important subjects, what if learning something else. Another reason is high costs. Learning any subject at universities needs its own materials and equipment. Thus, in order to teach multiple fields to all of the students, universities have to allocate a large amount of money to build more infrastructures and buy necessary equipment, while many students ’ basic needs including food and accommodation are of greater importance, and should be considered first. In conclusion, although due to learning quality and job opportunities, some people suggest it is better for students to learn about other topics in addition to their main ones, others recommend due to the financial problems and also wasting students ’ precious time on learning various subjects, it is a convenience for students to put their efforts into getting a good qualification.