Some people believe global trade is the best way for an economy to grow. However, others believe we should only produce and buy products made in our own country.

While some people argue that countries should open up their economies for global trade otherwise in favor of following a closed economy concept. I personally believe that the domestic production and selling activities are crucial for the economy to prosper and grow. This essay will examine both perspectives and explain why I support in the latter. The supporters of the open economy argue that the trade with other markets will enhance the local economy due to importing the know-how from other markets. The recent studies show that open economy countries have a more healthier economy compared to the closed ones. The other reason why some people in favor of open economy is the availability of external funding of local projects given the rising banks borrowing costs. One prime example is the Syrian government efforts and encouragement of external countries to rebuild the economy post war. On the other hand, the advocates for the closed economy believe the local industries will prosper as a result of high local demand with the absence of any external competition. For example, Syrian market before war was one of the strongest economies because they produce and sell domestically. In addition to that, the closed economy will protect the current assets from any foreign control as well as prevent the leakage of the technology outside the country. For example, the Chinese government put its hand on Venezuela's oil properties as a result of open economy concept. In conclusion, while an open economy offers opportunities for growth, I believe that prioritizing domestic production and consumption is essential for sustainable economic development.