It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is both impossible and useless for a country to provide a larger percentage of young adults with college placements. I completely disagree with this statement because it is possible by constructing more colleges and useful as young individuals will replace their elder counterparts in the future. Government’s funding should be directed more towards building colleges. This can be achieved by allocating more funds towards the educational sector rather than investing in less essential areas such as the military wars. By redirecting these funds in building more universities they can increase the overall capacity of the educational system. This way it is possible to accommodate a larger percentage of young individuals with university placements. For example, India has prioritized investing in building a large number of engineering and technical colleges, instead of military expenditure which resulted in a highly educated young population. It is highly beneficial to provide a large proportion of university placements to young individuals. By educating a large number of younger individuals, a country can still maintain its economy by replacing them with their aging workforce across various sectors. Higher education helps individuals gain necessary skills to take over positions from the elderly in key sectors. For example, Japan’s facing a rapid decline in elderly population which led them to invest in higher education and training programmes, preparing the youth to step into roles which were previously held by elderly individuals. This not only helped in smooth transition of workforce but also helped them in sustaining their economy. In conclusion, constructing more colleges is a viable solution to accommodate a larger proportion of young individuals with college placements and also replace their elder counterparts in the future