Today much of the food people ear gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, people eat their food carried from farms which is far from their residents. Since it harms environment and costs much, some people argue that they need to consume foods form their local farmers. In this essay, I will explaine whether its advantages would outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, there are two benefits to shorten the distance of transportation. Firstly, it decreases the use of energy, because trucks and trains do not need to run so long. As a result, the emission of warmhouse gas can be declined. Secondly, the city can increase the income, due to the rise of consumption of their foods. In other words, people use their money for their living place. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages. First of all, it depends on the climate, whether vegetables can grow up. Therefore, if the weather does not match, it might need an additional cost such as energy cost and the cost for a facility. In conclusion, it rely on the environment of the city, whether the opinion is efficient or not. Therefore, the government should judge the circumstance and needs to create a sustainable society.