As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Most of a lifetime is spent at work. Thus, it means a lot to them to feel satisfied at work. If an employee is not satisfied at work, however, they can get stressed and tired, which can also affect other areas of their life. There are many reasons that make a person happy at work. One of them is working at a job they enjoy. If a person enjoys their job, they will become happier and work harder. Another reason is a decent salary, as people need to earn enough money to lead a comfortable life and support their families. Also, a peaceful and secure working place makes people happy. Good colleagues and a kind boss also help a lot. Finally, learning something new and developing themselves also provides satisfaction. However, it is not a reality for all persons to have a job that makes them happy. There are a lot of people who simply work for compensation, despite them not being happy performing the job. Others may be working and live in regions with minimal opportunities for gaining employment. There are persons who may have an unsupportive employer or be forced to work for long periods of time for minimal compensation. It is the result of such reasons that it is at times not possible for all persons to remain happy while working. Job satisfaction is a great goal, until it is a goal that is unachievable for all. Life is unfair at times, and sometimes we just have to take any job we can find. Governments and employers need to provide employees with better working conditions, fair pay, and better training. In summary, job satisfaction is based on several factors, including income, job type, and relationships with the workplace.