A lot of children spend time on social media surfing the internet and playing video games which hurts their studies and grades and makes them experience loneliness and health problems such as obesity. What is the reason behind this? What can the parents do to prevent it?

The rise of technology including social media and video games has become a boon rather a bane for today's emerging generation. This has lead to exacerbate their mental and physical health while causing problems like being overweight and feeling lonely. The root cause for this is the sedentary lifestyle among children owing to either online games or social media. Lets evaluate and discuss what can be done by the parents to help their kids have a healthy way of living. Due to sedentary lifestyle, kids nowadays have significantly reduced their physical activity, with spending more time on either their mobile phones, laptops or other devices. Furthermore, the addiction to these have lead to profound mental problems like loneliness and depression. For example, since today's generation don't go out for any sports or exercise they have zero social interactions leading to unhealthy body and mind. Additionally, unbalanced diet such as having sugary drinks and fast food have triggered increased calories intake and high blood sugar levels. Parents can have tremendous impact on their infant's lifestyle and diet by inculcating regular outdoor activities, exercises at home and balanced diet with all nutritional values in it. They can encourage their child to have atleast one sports activity such as swimming, cricket, football etc. daily which will not only improve their body but also the mind as they engage and collaborate with others. In addition, they can help refine the diet of their kids by including lots of vegetables and fruits rich in vitamins and nutrients and avoiding unhealthy food products and beverages. In conclusion, it is always said that a healthy mind resides in a healthy body. Parents can play a cruicial role by implanting minor changes in their infact's daily routine such as exercise in any form be it outdoor game or sports and having a balanced diet can do wonders when fighting against the both physical and mental problems.