Many people are afraid to leave their houses because of the fear of crime. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crimes. Others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, crime has emerged to become one of the most prominent and complex issues facing societies worldwide. This has raised the question for people to whether go out of their houses or not. While some support that more efforts should be taken to help diminish this issue, others argue that nothing much can be done. I firmly believe in the former idea and will state the reasons for the same. Opponents argue that, due to increase in the rate of crime nowadays, individuals have a feeling of insecurity for themselves. Furthermore, the primary reasons for crime are poverty, unemployment, socio-economic disparity among communities and lack of proper actions by government has furthermore exacerbated the situation. For example, individuals from economically disadvantged communities treat crime as a defensive tool. On the other hand, proponents support that with increased measures, strict rules and regulations we can definitely deter its impact. For instance, given that there are strict punishments against serious criminals, they will think twice before committing a crime like that. Similarly, the government should invest more in social welfare programs, provide free education to all and have vocational trainings for poor people, it will not only help combat the crime rate but also help boost the economy of the nation. In my opinion, I totally support the idea that more steps with the help of the government can we can reduce the fear of crime which has been built in people such as by following simple steps like, increasing police patrolling and installing surveillance cameras in public places will not only help to reduce crime but also help provide evidences for the judicial cases. In conclusion, it is undeniable that with increasing rate of crime there is a sense of insecurity among citizens but if taken proper steps this can help deal with the issue better. By using simple ideas such as police patrolling, installing surveillance cameras, implementing stricter laws against the offenders and increasing budget for programs such as social welfare, vocational trainings and free education for all we can have a more safer society for everyone.