Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, a lot of people feel the need to impress others by funding a luxurious lifestyle. They go the extent of borrowing money, acquiring things they do not even need, and are way above their means. There are several reasons people choose such way of life, two of which of are a lack of proper financial education, and peer pressure. Notwithstanding, there are likewise effective measures that could be applied to manage this. One of the reasons why one would prefer to go after a fancy lifestyle at the expense of financial freedom is inadequate financial grooming. A lot of people are well grounded in their knowledge of mathematics, english, and other courses offered in school but the subject of money management. This is mainly because a lot of educational institutions downplay the importance of financial education. Another reason people do not prioritize their expenses is they feel the need to feel among. Children who are not well grounded in who they are within themselves always want to fill that void by keeping up appearances. In other words, low self esteem is the reason one might fund an expensive lifestyle they cannot afford, just to appear a certain way before others they feel are competition to them. Nevertheless, I believe there are a number of ways this problem can be tackled. Firstly, introduction of courses that are financially empowering in school, both at elementary and higher education levels. Just like physical education informs healthier lifestyle choices, so does financial empowerment to making better money choices. Secondly, cultivating a healthy self-perception in our young ones. If children are groomed by their parents to understand that the true estimation of ones wealth is not from what they acquire but who they are from within, they would feel no pressure impress people at their expense. In conclusion, a lack of financial education, and unhealthy self-esteem are the reasons people go over and beyond to live a life they cannot afford. I believe proper exposure to financial knowledge, and more intentional parenting is a way of this.