The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes ? What are the solutions for this problem?

Nowadays. The more consumer goods are manufactured, the more damage is inflicted on the environment. I will outline several reasons for this and put forward some measures to address this issue. First of all, the increase in the production of consumer products harms the environment in two ways, the chemical by products from the manufacturing process and the mass production of disposable goods. As more goods are produced, more toxic waste and emissions are released from factories into nature. That is to say, water sources are contaminated, and the air is severely polluted, which results in the death of many marine and animals. Additionally, to sort out individuals’s demands, more single use products are made every day and most of which are non-biodegradable. These kind of products can remain as waste for thousands of years, turning our planet into a huge landfill and making a threat to the living habitats of all creatures. On the other hand, actions must be taken as soon as possible to mitigate the negative impacts on the environment arising from the increasing consumption of consumer goods. Firstly, companies should promote the use of eco friendly materials. For instance, coffee starbucks company has recently replaced plastic goods with reusable alternatives made of materials including paper, bamboo. Moreover, many governments are also encouraging the development of more sustainable manufacturing processes. Fa good illustration is that many states in the U.S offer tax breaks and incentives for businesses using renewable energy, and and some firms are allowed to purchase green energy at cheaper prices than traditional fossil fuels. In conclusion, there are two main reasons why the environment is impacted by the increase in production of consumer goods. Not only can companies produce environmentaly friendly products, but also they can they can utilize sustainable matherials.