Natural resources, such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Raw materials, such as H₂O, wood, and petroleum, are being utilized at a high rate. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the wasteful lifestyle in many countries in the West, and the viable solution is a public awareness campaign educating the public on how to reduce their consumption of natural resources. Countries in North America and Europe have a culture of waste. That is to say their lifestyles involve consuming lots of natural resources for their transport, food and leisure time. For example, the most popular car in the USA is the SUV, which has the lowest fuel efficiency of any car and it is not unusual for the average home in Europe to have a TV in every room, along with many other electronic devices. This results in a huge amount of energy being consumed in the form of petroleum in cars and coal and gas in electrical power stations. Many have become so used to this type of luxury that it is very difficult for them to contemplate a life without modern conveniences. To tackle this problem, the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the dangers of consuming lots of natural resources consuming more than necessary. The excessive use of natural resources such as oil can lead to a significant rise in global warming. Moreover, these resources will eventually disappear if they do not change their way of life. Therefore, people should reduce their consumption of these resources and try to increase recycling. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more open and honest about it. For instance, a similar initiative in KSA resulted in a 52% increase in people utilizing renewable energy. In conclusion, the Earth’s natural resources are being depleted rapidly due to a lack of knowledge in resource consumption by Americans and Europeans. However, it can be addressed through educating individuals about the dangers.