History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

While some people believe that History is one of the major course of study in school, Other's are of the opinion that Science and technology is more relevant. In my opinion, technology and science is of more relevance and I will be discussing both views alongside my opinion. On the one hand, Science and technology plays a major role in core sectors of life such as health, shelter and communication. Learning science modules increases knowledge and Ideas essential for disease prevention, research, drug formulation and treatment of ill-health. This helps in early disease identification and cure. Thus improving health and wellbeing. To illustrate, a study in 2021, showed that the knowledge of science led to the production of most potent medication used in the management of polio. Thus, resulting in polio eradication in 2023. History is as important as it's science counterpart, because it tells the stories of yesterday in a way that reflects the present. For example, the story of family unit and peace by Chinua Achebe in the book' Things fall Apart' showed the importance of bonding, love and peace in a unit. This was learnt by the masses and it formed the bedrock of joy and unity in many homes. This shows, that studying history as a subject is essential for upholding values and culture. In my Opinion, studying Science and Technology and also History are all important, but i will prefer giving relevance to Science and technology because it is the bedrock of life and also the foundation for many innovations. For instance, the advancement in today's communication such as wireless internet apps resulted from the technolgy skills learnt from the classroom. This app makes it easy to talk to another person in a far place without travelling to meet them, hence reducing the discomfort associated with travelling. For instance, Gidmma the originator of Google, invented the app from the ideas curated through Tech training and this app has made sharing of information seamless. This shows that these modules are essential for survival. To summarise, history, science and technolgy modules are good courses for study. However, in my Opinion, it's preferred to study Science and Technology because of their impact in health, disease prevention, cure and advancein communication, which eventually makes life easy to live.