Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

In today's world, there are various opinions regarding food preservatives as chemicals in food industries, and it is important to consider both the merits and demerits. In my opinion, the potential dangers from this are greater than the benefits we receive. On the one hand, chemical substances offer several benefits in food processing industries. One of the major advantages is that food long-lasting, which is achieved via the use of artificial additives which help manufacturers sell their products more conveniently. To exemplify, nowadays in some developing countries dairy-based products utilise preservatives to reduce the rate of spoilage of their crops. This highlights the positive impact of chemicals in food manufacturing. On the other hand, there are some significant drawbacks as a result of using chemical ingredients to have a longer shelf life. A main disadvantage is their side effects, leading to the risk of contracting digestive diseases. To elaborate, most additives, which are derived from mixing a diversity of chemicals, threaten people's health. For instance, in the USA, recently it has been reported that many individuals suffered from the consumption of sausage, which used a great portion of detrimental additives illustrates the negative effects of chemical usage in Provisions. To sum up, while chemical derivatives offer both benefits and challenges, I am of the opinion that the meals without the existence of preservatives might be more nutritious for human health, outweighing their functional role in the food industry.