In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

Majority of the countries close their primary and secondary schools for summer vacation for two months and more. The importance of having prolonged holidays and the arguments for making school holidays shorter are being discussed in the forthcoming essay. The adolescent age is when children have a major development in their character and cognitive abilities and when they have longer holidays, they spend their time playing, interacting with friends and family members. In addition, the basic skills like communication, cooking and other household activities are learned during this period. Similarly, it is very important for the children to have a break from the routine and enjoy the little things in life. For instance, most children during their vacations go visit their distant families and spend time with them which helps them build relationships and connections as well. On the contrary, some people argue that shorter holidays have more advantages than longer holidays. They state that children in this age group should spend more time in the school learning and interacting with other kids in the same age category. Furthermore, parents will have other commitments like work making it hard to spend time with their children. For example, most parents have to find people to support them during holidays to look after their children while they are away at work. To conclude, having longer holidays result in character, brain and skill development for children in this age category however, the shorter holidays are in favour for most of the parents as it might be stressful considering their child's safety.