Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The manner of international travel has long been debated. Some argue that it is necessary for visitors to follow the customs, while others believe that embracing cultural diversity is crucial. I will examine both sides and conclude it in this essay. On the one hand, the insistence on acquiring local behaviors is to protect the needs of social harmony and cultural preservation. If tourists disregard local taboos, they might cause social anxiety and detrimental effects on the local environment. For instance, when visitors insist to drinking on the road where it is prohibited, this will result in an offense in regulations. Besides, the preservation of local culture highlights one country’s specialty when traveling, so it is better for visitors to follow local customs to have an unforgettable experience. On the other hand, those who believe the host country should embrace foreign tourists emphasize the importance of cultural exchange. When visitors bring their habits to a new continent, a diverse background enables them to exchange and understand the differences in their culture. Moreover, this exchange comes with an increase in the economy. Tourism contributes a large percentage to GDP in many countries, including developing and developed ones. So, having more visitors is beneficial to most countries. In conclusion, while the social and economic pros are clear, fundamental concerns in preserving local harmony and laws are non-negotiable. The host country should find a balance between the two and try to maximize its benefits.