In many countries today there are highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, a considerably huge amount of college students fail to find a job upon graduation. This essay discusses a possible cause to these phenomenon and provide solutions to it, first by explaining how the lack of social skills among students caused the issue, then discuss measures which can be adapted buy universities and the students themselves. One of the possible causes of the issue is the lack of social skills among students. Despite being well-equipped with academic knowledge in their tertiary education because most assignments are submitted in reports and essays, social skills, including oral communication and co-operation sills are not emphasized since they are never a major part of assessments. Therefore, college learners generally focus on pushing their academic results, rather than spending time on cultivating practical skills. A decade ago, a master graduate from the Chinese University of Hong Kong has gone viral dur to his difficulty in finding a job placement. Although he blamed the society for not providing him chances, he was criticized by the public for his lack of social and oral communication skills. This can also be seen from several college graduates that cannot master practical skills, which are essential in the workplace. Therefore, it is believed that graduate’s lack of practical skills is a major factor that can lead to this issue. To cope with this issue, activities can be organized by universities to cultivate student’s social skills. With the help of colleges, students can be taught to not only focus on academic achievement, but also interpersonal skills which are necessary in the workplace. For instance, a student affairs office is set in various universities. They can assist in the organization of life-wide learning activities, in which a range of learning events can be arranged around campus. Through joining these activities, students can be cultivated to be aware of their social skills and make improvements during their study periods in college, which would facilitate personal improvements and increase students ’ employment opportunities. Additionally, students are also encouraged to actively seek new career opportunities themselves. To enrich student’s learning experiences, they can participate in different career-related programmes to gain social and practical skills for their career development. Examples include summer internships offered by different organizations, ranging from government sectors, small-medium enterprises, large corporations and non-government organizations. By accumulating first-hand experience in authentic settings, students can recognize their strengths and weaknesses effectively and make necessary improvements before graduation. In conclusion, it is possible that college graduates fail to find a job due to the incapability to interact with others in the job setting. Actions can be taken by universities and students to alleviate the problem.