In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

Society has undergone many changes, and that includes the school. Primary and secondary schools agree that the summer holiday should be two months long. Reducing the summer holiday is important. This essay will examine the value of long school holidays and the arguments for shorter school holidays. On the one hand, there are many values for the long school holiday. First, a long holiday leads to reduced stress for everybody in school. For example, students will stop thinking about grades and homework. Also, teachers will stop facing student problems and have a break for themselves. Second, it allows the chance to do more hobbies. For example, reading, football, playing piano, and other hobbies need more practice to master them. Also, it’s very great for both students and teachers to discover their hobbies. Finally, a long holiday gives a chance to take many trips. For example, they can plan to travel and learn more about countries and people. In addition, they will gain new experience on every trip they take. On the other hand, there are different arguments in favour of shorter school holidays. The daily school routine helps life to be organized. For example, there will be a specific schedule for sleep, wake up, food, and study that will help to have a healthy life. Also, it will lead to perfect time management. What’s more, making students busy for a long time can save them. Students in primary and secondary school can face many problems, such as smoking and a hectic schedule. Also, being busy with good things can improve your personality. Finally, shorter school holidays mean more time to study. Teachers will be happy to explain all the information quickly. Additionally, students will be more comfortable understanding and learn more. In conclusion, it is clear to see that the long school holiday has many benefits. However, shorter school holidays have several advantages.