People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

An increasing number of people are having sugar -based drinks. The reasons vary between their accessibility of purchase and social behaviours. To stop it, society's views around these beverages would have to change, as well as the way the drinks are sold. Firstly, sodas are available everywhere. Buying one is a very simple process. Most, if not all, restaurants, coffeehouses and even vending machines have them at the public’s disposal. However, finding a healthy alternative, like a detox juice, for example, often requires going to a specific place. Secondly, soft drinks are part of social culture. It's common in some countries, like the USA, for example, to meet up with friends for a sweet treat. This happens especially between youngsters. Rituals like this intensify the consumption because it becomes a natural part of day-to-day life. Sometimes, people don't even realise the beverages have so much sugar in them. One of the reasons for this is the denominations the coffee places and brands give to the products. Look at Starbucks, for example. If you buy an iced coffee, you may think that it simply has coffee in it, but a lot of famous brands include sugar in all their drinks. To stop this upward trend, the health effects of sugar should be put in all cans, as is done for cigarettes. Furthermore, healthier options of drinks should be as easily available as the sugary versions are. If these solutions were implemented, people would have more options to choose from. Knowing the impact of sugar through clearer labelling could then encourage healthier decisions. In summary, the reasons why people are drinking more sugary drinks are because of their accessibility and the role they play in social activities. The solutions to stop them are to alert people about the effects of sugar, while also making healthier options easy to choose.