Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to study for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people enrolled in the high-level education require freedom for learning what they want to learn, even if it is out of the mainstream of the major. This will be a good opportunity that allows students to find what they are really interested in and what they want to do in their future. However, it is controversial to give those chances, because the fundamental role of universities is to raise specialists. In my opinion, universities should leave students alone when they choose their curricula, so that they can have time to know themselves. Firstly, studying and experiencing various things is helpful for high school graduates to inspect themselves. Moreover, it is also essential for setting future goals. Because most individuals just follow uniform courses, which are already fixed on a specific standard, universities can be places where they can get numerous inputs. For example, 75% of post-graduates took their careers out of their major, and the most reason was that their main studies were different from what they expected, and they found their preferences. On the other hand, universities originated from teaching people to be professionals in some fields, and learning high-quality case studies if they want. Furthermore, the original role of elective courses is also to make them naturalised into social norms. For instance, the government of South Korea annually requires at least 180 graduates who are qualified. Whereas, the number of specialists has decreased in every single year, so it causes another tax usage. In conclusion, it is important for students to get as many information as they can in universities. Still, all courses in there atr meant to concentrate on fostering specific groups, not on their preferences. I believe that they need to offer opportunities where students are able to carefully think about their lives before they graduate. In my case, I took one English class while I studied biology for 5 years. I strongly felt that studying multiple languages is fascinating and intrigues me. Hence, I have worked as a translator since I graduated. It was a life-changing experience, but I think it has worth.