In order to learn the way other people in the world live, it is better to look at film and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that watching movies or documentaries is better than books for people to learn about the world. While written book always records in greater details, I still believe that film plays a crucial role in enhancing cultural understanding and improving information sharing. Visual documentaries are beneficial for understanding the world better. Unlike written documents, movies can vividly depict the lives of people in different countries, with authentic voices and dynamic actions, which create an immersive atmosphere for individuals. For example, it is difficult to use simple and understandable language to describe the hunting process in African tribes, while voices make it easy at a glance. What is more, cultural understanding promotes a valuable emotional relationship between the world, making the world more harmonious. Videos enable people to obtain information promptly. To illustrate, many aspects of daily lives in foreign countries are dynamic and time-sensitive, so that it needs to be updated in time. For instance, a short clip documenting a new festival tradition in rural Sweden, can be easily uploaded online immediately, whereas printed books, which cannot be revised once published and thus quickly become outdated. In addition, timely information reception is essential for bridging the information gap between countries, which helps to eliminate cultural prejudices. In conclusion, comparing the written documents, not only can films and documentaries promote international understanding and foster a deeper emotional connection across the world through voices and actions, but they can also narrow the information gap and thereby eliminate cultural prejudices by delivering timely information. In doing so, they become powerful bridges that unite diverse cultures, paving the way for a more harmonious and interconnected global community.