Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that students at university should choose to study whatever they like, others think they should be forced to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as science and technology-related subjects. While students will probably enjoy their university years more if they study subjects they’re interested in, I believe that requiring them to make practical choices will help ensure they find a job after graduation. Students who choose a major based on their interests are far more likely to enjoy their time at university. This is to say that an undergraduate’s life involves countless hours of reading and studying, and being passionate about their subjects can make this kind of hard work enjoyable. For example, commonly in my country, only those who studied their subject of choice still say that they truly enjoyed university. However, I believe that an enjoyable three or four years cannot compensate for difficulty in finding work after graduating. Students who are forced to study subjects related to science and technology are more likely to find employment after they graduate. This is because there is a very high demand for graduates with these kinds of skill sets. For example, the vast majority of employment opportunities that are now commonly advertised online are in the sectors of IT and science. This is why I believe that forcing students to make practical choices at university, even if their interests lie elsewhere, gives them the best chance of a successful, financially-secure future. In conclusion, although studying courses one finds interesting at university will make these years more enjoyable, this essay believes it is better to limit students ’ options to subjects that will be of use in the future because this will help them find a job after they graduate.