Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? Whal action can be laken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, we are living in a highly materialistic society. Some people get into debt by purchasing unnecessary things they can't afford. This is because they tend to believe that the more they have, the better they are, and what they have seems to be a measure of success. This essay will discuss these causes and the possible solutions to change the idea we judge others and learning about media literacy. To begin with, we are living in a society of consumption. People have been told that they need more stuff in order to be happy. Moreover, society puts others at a higher level if they have a lot of money and possessions. As a result, this causes some of them to buy things they don't need, even though they have to get into debt. Besides, there are two ways to solve the problems caused by materialism. First, we need to change the way we judge other people from their possessions to their actions. That is to say, it does not matter how much money, jewellery or cars they have. What matters is the way they act towards others. Next, folks need to learn more about media literacy. They should understand the purposes of advertisements, how they affect them. Thus, they can analyse the information in advertisements and realise that they do not have to buy everything they want. In conclusion, some of them get into debt by buying things they don't need because they think that stuff can reflect their economic status or their success. The two solutions I think could reduce this problem are changing the idea we judge others and knowing more about media literacy.