The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping is growing exponentially from the last couple of years. It’s the fastest growing industry in the world and impacting the offline stores negatively. However, the vast majority of people still like to go personally to the stores to check the products physically before they buy it. I believe that it is unlikely for e-commerce to take over for the whole industry. There are numerous benefits of shopping online for a buyer and a seller. Besides of saving time and money both, it also allow the consumer to look for the more options in similar item. They can purchase the product from the suppliers all around the world and this makes the market more competitive and encourage producers to make the better products at a good price. Moreover, people can leave their reviews according to their experience after using the goods. This helps both the parties to promote and improve their merchandise and guides the purchaser while making a decision for spending their hard earned money. Not only customer but vendor also saves ample amount of cash by reducing the cost of their operation. For example, e-venders do not need a physical store to present their goods which cut the cost of renting the property and staff to keep it running. Although e-commerce is beneficial for all but people would still love the experience of in-store shopping. The larger number of population still go to the shopping mall for different purposes rather than just order online. Why is that? It’s because they like ambience of the stores and want to experience or try the item before they buy it. Secondly, it gives a reason to take some time out from their busy life and spend the time with their families while doing shopping. Another reason is that some people may not be good with the technology and do not know how to use the websites. So, there are chances that they might fall into a trap of internet scams. It’s not safe at all to provide the personal information and credit card details that might be used in the illegal activities. On top of it, it also impacts the local vendors and shops in the community that would have negative social consequences including job loss and fewer opportunities for social interaction. In conclusion, I believe that offline shopping has its importance that cannot be vanished. The producers are going hybrid in this era while making their products available in both sides. Most of the major brands have their own websites and stores as well to sell their merchandise at all platforms. While people would choose their preference according to their availability and urgency.