In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

In this modern world, whether cash should keep existing or it can be replaced by card and mobile phone has been a widely debated issue. I strongly believe that completing payment without cash is far more beneficial. This will be a trend in near future, as it brings convenience and carries long-term economic advantages. One major reason to pay by digital devices is convenience. Nowadays, more people choose to finalise payment by using technoligies such as eftpot or bank transfering, instead of cash and coins. This is because of efficiency; In other words, tapping or inserting card is faster than grabbing notes from wallet. In addition, an extra space for carrying physical money is no more needed. Another strong argument for substitution of cash is economic value. First of all, we must appreciate contemporary technologies, which not only provide convenience, but also enhance the economy; To be more specific, it unlocks the limitation of paying. For a classic example, shopping online is common in these days, but, it could not be happended before the time without intrenet and technologies, which means the diverse method of paying is crucial. As a consequence, non- cash economy is positive for modern society. However, some people oppose that paying without paper money is insecure, because it may cause the personal information issue. In contrast, using cash is safe, as we don't need to reveal any personal detail while making payment. In conclusion, I personally believe that cash will not entirely disappear from the world, because it is still widely used in many aspects. However, lessing use of cash is inevitable, as most people are already used to paying without cash.