Many people today are worried about young children using video game. What problems might these games cause for children and society as a whole? How could these problems be reduced?

We are living in a highly advanced society where technology has infiltrated every aspect of our lives. Due to the constant exposure of screens an increasing amount of children have become addicted to video games. This is a growing problem that must be tackled very carefully by parents and governing bodies. This essay will highlight how addiction to video games negatively impacts children and society and what steps must be taken to reduce the problems caused by them. Children need proper attention to their diet, sufficient physical activity and socialization with other kids to develop physically and mentally. For instance, when children spend more time indoors glued to video games that depict violent scenes, instead of engaging in sports with their friends it negatively impacts their mental and physical health. When these children grow into adults they are found to engage in violent acts such as gun violence, crimes and assault due to exposure of such scenes in their formative years. Therefore, it is clear that video game addiction presents itself as a threat to children as well as other people. To counter this parents and governments must take strict actions. Parents must firstly monitor closely what their child does online. They must prevent children from falling into the trap of addicting video games and have strict limitations on screen use. Governments must realise that harmful, violent and sexually explicit video games must not become accessible to children below 18 and that companies do not promote such content in games meant for kids. To summarize, video game addiction poses a real threat to young people and society. I suggest combined measures from parents and governments to successfully prevent children from developing video game addictions. Since a growing number of children have an online presence nowadays it is best to swiftly take action to shield children from falling it to the trap of addicting and violent games.