Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical* time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

It is often argued that workers must be given a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical time for personal benefits, while others believe that this is wrong and discourage it. This essay will discuss both perspectives before giving my own opinion. On the one hand, some people believe that workers should be given a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical time for their personal interest or studies. The main reason for this is that it helps them to fresh their mind after handling too much office work by going on vacations, small trips with family, or holidays with friends. Another reason is that during sabbatical time, workers do extra studies or research in their field to make further scope, which can, as a result, benefit both the individual and organization. However, others argue that they see no merit and are against it. This is because many people are in the queue for that position and can handle the same amount of work as compared of the other workers. As a result, other people feel demotivated and bad that they are not getting good opportunity. Moreover, it also feels that sabbatical time is destroying opportunities for those who are more loyal, smart and hardworking. I personally believe that I am against the sabbatical leave because it destroys the chance of a person which is more deserving. As a result, they feel bad and demotivated. In conclusion, the first view for some people will be beneficial, but in the end it is all about giving opportunities to which is more deserving, that is why in my perspective I am against it.