Some people believe that time spent on televiosion, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has a negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Time spent by young children on electronic means of entertainment such as television, computer games and videos has a direct impact on how children view and navigate the world. This can either affect a child positively or negatively as I shall illustrate below. The effects of these sources of entertainment largely depends on the type of content the child consumes. Think of it as Garbage in Garbage out. If the child watches negative and vice promoting content, the kid will definitely emulate that. Moreover the same case applies if the child spends time watching educational and enriching content. It is the responsibility of parents and older authorities to monitor the nature of content presented before their children's young and vulnerable minds. This can be achieved through imposing parental control on gadgets and adhering to age restriction guidelines. A responsible adult should not allow their ten year old son to watch an R rated movie or navigate some shady websites. Additionally, irregardless of the nature of content presented, time also plays a crucial factor. Whether or not a child is watching a movie on Netflix, learning or playing a game spending six hours behind a screen is unhealthy. Electronic entertainment is fine but too much of anything is poisonous. Television and computer games cannot substitute playing with friends and developing applicable skills in real life. Gadget addiction in whichever form is terrible for young kids as it limits their exposure to real life situations. Not to mention that at times this addiction can lead to poor time management in children when they prioritize using these appliances over personal responsibilities such as cleaning their room. It is an additional task for parents and relevant authorities alike to limit kid's time behind screens. In conclusion time spent on devices can be very beneficial to children. However if left uncontrolled it does more harm than good. Parents and older authorities alike ought to manage what the young children feed their minds as well as ensuring a healthy balance is maintained.