Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit the workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of technology has offered the possibility of remote work. In my opinion, a remote work brings more advantages than drawbacks for both employers and workers. Especially in big cities where the commuting time can take up to a third of the day, it is, obsviously, beneficial for the employee to be able to work from home and having this time added to their resting time or even to exercise or have some quality time with the family. A survey made in São Paulo, the largest city in Latin America, shows that the average time spent commuting from home to work is two hours and 30 minutes. The main problem is, added to that, workers have to deal with public transport delay and stressfull situations that could be avoid if the they had a chance to work from home. On the other hand, it is already known that working from home brings advantages not only to the workers but also to the company. A norwegian study shows that business that adopted remote work had signficant productivity gain, as well as better results and higher engagement overall. The research also showed that remote workers tend to be more grateful for their job and less vulnerable to mental health issues. In conclusion, I believe that companies should take the opportunity given by technology and rethink about their organizational culture, in order to enable their workforce of working remotely and consequently offering better conditions and having better results too.