Some employers of their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more active at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, give your opinion.

Some companies believe that buying gym or sports memberships for those who work for them, is a great way to increase in-house productivity. Others, unfortunately, disagree. In my opinion, investing in the health of their workforce goes a long way. There are indeed positives to investing in gym memberships for workers. Exercise has not only been linked with decreasing rates in diseases such as obesity or arthritis, but also positively affects mental health. Endorphins are released during exercise, which better the mood of individuals both in the short term as well as the long. This as a result will enhance work performance. Of course, there is also the added benefit that the person will feel that the company cares for them on a more personal level, and therefore, this small act of kindness helps an individual feel more cared for. Again, bettering their attitude towards work. Other employers may dispute this, arguing that costs for such memberships may quickly accumulate, and not have a large return. Even with the act of buying these memberships there is no guarantee employees will actually use these opportunities. Large scale companies may therefore spend thoussands on buying these entries only for some not to use them. This expense would put financial pressures on the company. I think it's obviously correct for a cooperation to invest in their workers. This act cultivates a feeling of respect for them. If finances are the reason behind the inhibition of doing so, there are ways the company can keep their expenses lower i.e. installing an in-house gym. In conclusion, some companies may not trust that placing money in gym memberships will show fruitful benefits, whilst others deem it to be necessary. As companies can take actions to keep the initial investment low, I believe that the benefits outweight the negatives.