In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

The majority of countries worldwide have banned smoking in public places. This decision was supported by a large group of people because of the undeniable harm smoking causes to human’s body. I strongly agree with this opinion, since in many cases irreversible damage, such as wildfires or role modeling may be done. The main reason why I agree with this statement is that such health-harmful habits as smoking, when exposed to developing minds, can be mistakenly perceived as a normal phenomenon and even be imitated in the future. Statistics show that teenagers who consistently witness adults smoking, are more inclined to pick up the habit than those who have never encountered a smoker. Therefore, I firmly believe that smoking in public must be strictly prohibited. In addition, smoking in areas open for public, especially the ones surrounded by nature, is often banned not only for moral reasons, but also due to environmental safety. For instance, a few years ago in a local park in my hometown, someone carelessly discarded a still burning cigarette butt, which immediately lead to an uncontrolled fire, subsequently devastating a large part of the area. This case shows how essential it is to follow the rules, imposed by the authorities. In conclusion, while every person is responsible for their own choices and may decide whether or not to pick up a habit, public smoking should be prohibited in order to prevent a bad influence on the youngsters, as well as to minimise risks of fire. Moreover, implementing such rule is essential for living in a prosperous society.