Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been an ongoing debate regarding the function of universities. A group of individuals believe there should be focus on jobs. However, others believe that universities should focus on knowledge. Therefore, before stating my opinion, both views will be discussed further. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument is that universities must help students find work. Because cannot find a good job after graduation due to high competition in the workplace, leading to a frustration. For example, people study computer science or engineering to earn a lot of money and secure their life. In addition, companies also want employees who already has practical skills, which can prevent them from waiting for a long training process. Therefore, universities should be like job tutorials. However, there are people who think universities should be focusing on more of a knowledge based education rather than being job tutorials. The value of the knowledge is the main reason for this type of thinking. These people belive that the knowledge is a binding element for today`s society. A person who is majoring in computer science can earn a living but without history lessons,where he can learns about his heritage,he cannot feel belonged. Hence a more inclusive education in universities is needed. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for job skills and knowledge. But in my opinion, I certainly favour the former opinion because finding a job is more important for students' future.