In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

The majority of countries around the world keep the rule of the summer holidays more than two months for primary and secondary schools. In this essay, we will discuss about its benefits to pupils and if there is a need of shorter school holidays instead.

On one hand, providing children with long summer holidays is the best decision. Why? Because students study all nine months consequently, their brain always in tension, mental health is suffering from competitons and fights for marks. Therefore, having rest from school contributes to the recovery of their mental state. Furthermore, summer holidays bring such an opportunity to spend time with family and siblings, while at school time you have no time to enjoy these moments fully. In addition, during summertime, there are so many camps and exchange programmes, which can help young individuals to make new friends and have cultural exchanges. For instance, in my childhood, as summer started my parents had a chance to send me to England on summer holidays. As I remember, I had a breathtaking cultural and language exchange, also this experience expanded my outlook. I started being more extroverted and open minded.

On other hand, long-termed summer holidays make you feel tired and depressed, if you do not have any plans how to spend this summer. For example, one can travel, learn new languages and visit grandparents, whilst other one can't manage his time and day. And therefore waste it, consequently starts to feel himself ' depressed '. Additionally, going to school, having lessons and attending different sections is all about routine. In three months summer holidays, routine gets diasappeared. Also this is not convenient for parents, too.

To conclude, I would like to say that having long-termed summer holidays