In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, parental leave is a constitutional right for women who have given birth during the first months after their babies are born. While it has some downsides, for parents and their baby's health, the upside, such as preserving their health and lowering their stress levels which is fueled by their jobs, can be far greater than reducing their chances of being hired because of potential career gap. This essay will elaborate on both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the advantages of taking parental leave for women is that work life is a catalyst, causing high stress levels and the possibility of catching an illness. This is because women have to go to work every day and they are exposed to a high workload, forcing them to complete their tasks simultaneously while they are trying to care for their child. These multitasks cause an increase in their stress level and trigger to feeling fatigue. For instance, if women have to join an in person meeting during the time of feeding their child; as a result, they loose their attention for the meeting. Therefore, they feel insufficient not only for works but also for their child, leading to augmenting stress levels. In addition, increasingly women use public transport, leading them to caught easily an ilnnes particularly in the winter. Thus, there is a strong link between parental leave and well-being because they capture the synergies each other. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of parental leave is that this career gaps leads to decrease their chances of being hired by a company. The reason is that comapnies seeking a person who can work in a long term without any probability of leaving or missing the working days. Given that reason, they see a woman who can potentially leave the job due to maternity leave after they give birth. To illustrate, there is a general belief that some companies prefer male managers for leading positions because they think that these men can work full-time and they don't need any extra off days like women. Therefore, women's chances increasingly decrease against men employees. In conclusion, although taking maternity leave has some downsides, I firmly maintain that this career gap provide a significant number of opportunities for parents, allowing them to spend more time on taking care of their child and keep safe their homes from any illness.