Professional sports person are often idolized by the youth. Some people think that they, therefore, have a responsibility to be role models at all times for children. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued whether professional players in sports should have an accountability to consistently become role models for children or whether it is unnecessary. While athletes, as part of public figure, does have to act responsibly infront of the camera, I believe excessive burden on this matter may distract them from their main career, such as focusing on their performances on the field.

Professional sports person possesses the ability to inspire young folks to positively contribute to the society. When someone they admired do positive activities for the society, children may be motivated to copy the behaviour. For example, athletes is widely known to give donations to the charities, and the youth tend to do the same and donate to the local charities. Moreover, as a public figure, professional players have the responsibility to demonstrate positive examples. Since their daily life may be exposed through social media, anyone from any age groups can watch them. By showing their healthy lifestyle, young people can learn from them and implement the same habit gradually. While professional sports person have several accountabilities to be idol for the youth, excessive responsibility can negatively affect their life.

On the other hand, athletes ' lives are not merely for social media content. Sometime, doing things that is considered inappropriate for children, such as drinking or partying, can trigger negative judgements from the public. This is particularly because such activities can influence children negatively. For instance, throwing a after-game-party, with alcoholic drinks involved, can expose children to negative curiosity. Moreover, as professional players, they should prioritise their game instead of public image. While maintaining positive image is necessary, excessively shaping their life to potray perfect role model figure is dangerous. This is especially because it can turn their focus away from excercising to less-necessary content-making activity.

In conclusion, while professional athletes should maintain a relatively good public image, caring to much of their image can hurt their performance in the long run. Thus, I partly agree that sports person has the responsibility as role models for the young folks by showing them positive examples.