Some people argue that universities should focus primarily on providing graduates with specific vocational training and practical skills for the workplace, rather than teaching a broad range of traditional academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether to teach traditional subjects in higher education has become a topic of debate. While some people believe that practical skills are more important than theoritical subjects, and to be prioritised so that can help students to work in real life, I strongly disagree with this view. I firmly believe that a balanced approch is more appropriate as both traditional as well as practical skills are equally important for university students.

On the one hand, people who argue that students should learn practical skills on priority rather than traditional subjects like History or Arts, because they want their children to be prepared for real life scenarios, as these traditional subjects have never been used in workplace. In todays technical era, these subjects will not help students to fulfil workplace requirements. For instance, an accountant will work on accounting tools to compelete the balance sheet in his office. Even if he scored good in History in his academic career, it will never be used in his day-to-day tasks.

On the other hand, university students should have the knowledge of all the subjects and its aspects. So that they can clearly choose their future career as per their interests. For example, if a student is learning Arts in his higher education, and he developed interest for it, then he can persue that as a career option. Learning only practical skills will narrow down his interests and can lead to depression.

In my opinion, every subject is important for the students ' overall growth. Learning in a balanced way will help student to know his interests and accordingly he can choose his career path. Focusing on practical skills will benefit them and will give technological awareness and they can use it to minimise their efforts.

In conclusion, although the technological advancements are taking place and rulling the world, student should learn all the subjects rather than to focus on only practical skills. They can use the technology to ease their work and daily tasks but having a knowledge of all the subjects can make them versatile.