In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this? Angsa

At present, developing countries are facing an increasing level of pollution, due to industries' emissions and cunstruction problems, resulting in a lower air and water quality. It is a hard issue to tackle, since industrialisation is essential for these countries to be competitive in the global market, but I believe that governments should enforce stricter regulations and raise awareness on the topic of environmental protection.

Firstly, stricter regulations should be introduced by the municipalities, regarding, for istance, waiste disposal and water quality. Moreover, fines should be applied as a deterrent, to enforce the law and encourage the industries to follow the government directions. Also, regular checks on water quality should be introduced, for example on rivers close to industrialised areas, to make sure that quality standards are met, and to stop people from using low quality water.

On the other hand, it is also essential to raise public awareness on environmental issues, by advertising environmental-friendly choices for a better future. Governments should start by the individuals, for instance encouraging people to recycle, then move on to schools and work-places, subsidising classes on environmental protection. For examples, countries in Northof Europe such as Finland or Norway, have the lowest rates of emissions not only because of the strict regulations, but also because people care about environmental protection as well.

In conclusion, I believe that a combined effort should be made by governments, on one hand enforcing stricter regulations and ensuring their respect through fines and regular checks, on the other, raising awareness among citizens about the damages of pollution.