Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of non-exam subjects is of great concern to the general public. There is an assertion that these arts-based disciplines should be changed into compulsory subjects in the secondary-school curriculum to improve all-around academic performance. Nevertheless, I would say this claim is problematic and the relevant reasons will be elaborated as follows.

On the one hand, it is not difficult to understand why some argue those arts-based subjedts should be compulsory in junior school and senior school curriculum. From this perspective, shcools should not only cultivate students ' academic competence but also art talent to help them become all-around students. Therefore, some people jump to the conclusion that secondary-schools should put the arts-based discipline into compulsory.

Plausible though the above logic seems, I will consider it illogical to force all secondary students to study arts. The advocates of the claim in the topic are oblivious to the irrelevant connection between the premise and conclusion in their logic-improving academic performance does not hinge exclusively on making the arts-based classes compulsory; by contrast, the justification of improving academic performance depends on various determining factors. Additionally, if the secondary students are pushed to study arts, they will have not else energy to study academic courses. In this case, the academmic performance will be worse.

To summarise, fromm what has been discussed above, altough some people say that arts-based couses should be changed into compulsory ones, it is my conclusion that these classes should be oppotional instead of compusory.