Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and that there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is questioned to whether interviewing a person is the best way to determine their suitability for a job. Though I believe that merely the interviewing method can help companies decide if a person is capable for a job, it is also true that it is not the only one that can help with the criteria identification. In this essay, I will give reasons and examples to why the process of interviewing is not the best method.

Metaphorically, we wear masks that cover up who we really are. In certain situations such as job interviews and formal meetings, we will try to make our personalities and manners as perfect as possible. Until the event has ended, our personalities do not legitimately reflect who we actually are. Therefore, an interview would be an inadequate method to find out who people really are and if they have what it takes to work for the company. I believe that a better solution would be to temporarily allow the job appliers to work for the company. After a short period of time, leaders should decide whether the job applier should be hired based on their behaviors, work productivity, etc.

In conclusion, while an interview only gives an insight to who a person is under formal circumstances, giving them a temporary try out to the actual job can be significantly more effective to understanding who they really are.