In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occured? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, youths spend more time with their friends and less time with members of their family. This is because they find the company of their friends more interesting, and I think that it is highly unnecessary for folks to enforce their children spending time with them as this will prevent them from developing soft skills. To begin with, youngsters prefer hanging out with their friends because they enjoy their company more than that of their parents. In other words, as a result of age difference, both parties might not have common interesting topics to talk about, therefore, resulting in little or no time being spent together. Furthermore, fear of punishment could make it hard for children to express certain thoughts to their parents, hence, resulting in them turning to their friends as confidant. For example, a recent survey conducted by the society for family health in Nigeria concluded that, 40 percent of parents now find it hard interacting with their children because they would rather spend time on the phone than talking to them. On the other hand, fathers and mothers forcing their young ones to dedicate more time to them would prevent the development of soft skills in the young child. That is, skill set such as communication skills, attitudes, people skills will be poorly developed if playmates are prevented from hanging out. These attributes are necessary for the child in order to interact effectively with members of the public. To exemplify, research has shown that youngsters that spend longer time with their friends tend to be well behaved members of the society as they have top notch interaction skills and express themselves without a hitch. This reinforces why the parents should not force their children to spend more time at home. To conclude, although children spend more time with their companion because they find them more fun, it is also essential that folks do not coerce their youngsters into spending time with them in order to effectively develop their soft skills.