Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

The excellent performance of the staff in an organization is usually rewarded in various ways and monetary rewards to the best performer are on increasing trend these days in most of the organizations. Although it motivates the employees to work harder, however, some people are of opinion that such rewards execute a negative impact on other workers. In my viewpoint, extra money along with other ways of motivation will encourage the working personnel to perform better. Firstly, all the workers working in an organization has only one objective- to earn money. No matter how cordially we may deny the fact, we work in order to get the money which is paid to us on weekly or monthly basis. To fulfil various personal or social needs, money is needed and the extra money earned by being the best performer is going to make the things easier and is the best motivation to work more and better. Secondly, monetary rewards do not create a negative influence on workers in an organization; rather they are stimulated to become an excellent performer next time. I can exemplify it through my personal experience. I work in a multinational company where best employee of the month gets about Rs. 5000 as a reward and a certificate. It has done wonders in the company, as every member of the team wants to become an achiever to attain prestige and reward, thus bringing a healthy competition in the environment. Also, other kinds of inspirations like appreciation letters, extended holidays and tour tickets can give short-term results, but to ignite the spark of hard- work in staff, money -rewards will have long term affects. Moreover, other types of stimulations have restricted utilization, whereas money can be used as one desires. In a nutshell, it is wise to say that money along with other ways of motivation like an appreciation letter from boss to recognize one’s efforts is surely going to make one work harder and smarter.