Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In many developed countries, executive positions in companies are dominated by men, although their employees are mostly women. This essay agrees that they should allocate a certain proportion of these posts to women. It is because there should be high-level representatives of dominating gender to accommodate their concerns and many women are academically capable to lead a big team. Firstly, it is important to have women representation at top-level management when the majority of employees are ladies because they have special needs. Different than men, they can have physiological changes during monthly period or pregnancy, which can result in a lower performance if top managers do not understand how to treat them during this time. Many would have a bad mood, so that it is wise to avoid a direct confrontation with them. For example, a chemical company BASF recorded 4% performance increase among their female workers after they newly-appointed vice-president, Mrs. Heineken, revised the company's policy to allow women to take sick leave during their cycles. Secondly, there are many women in developed countries hold MBA degrees from reputable universities. In addition, Many of them have been working for companies for years as well and this indicates that they have excellent knowledge and necessary skills to carry out the responsibilities of high-level positions in companies. For example, according to the General Commission on Higher Education in the UK, there are 4,000 new MBA graduates every year and women always dominate the list of honourable students. In conclusion, women workers in companies have special needs to be understood by the top-level managers and many of them hold MBA degrees. Therefore, this essay fully agrees that it is necessary for companies to appoint women at high-level position to accommodate them and to take advantage of their knowledge.