Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is observed that many companies are headed by men, even though their team is filled with women. Women often face trouble moving up the ladder despite doing a great job at work, which is why I strongly believe there should be a fixed percentage of positions allocated to women, to address this issue. Firstly, it is a proven fact that majority women are more loyal, honest and dedicated to what they do, than men. It is therefore no surprise that companies prefer female employees because they take their deadlines seriously and ensure to meet them too. It is also a fact that women are known to be more creative. This is especially evident from the current trends at advertising agencies which have seen a rise of women in creative roles in an organization. For example, you will notice how most agencies have females working as copywriters, planners etc. Even though the job demands late hours of slogging and lots of travel, women do complete justice to the role. Yet, statistics show that these ladies are usually headed by a male who runs the show and takes the awards and promotions. Secondly, despite having a lot of personal issues to cater to, for example, pregnancy, raising kids etc., women manage to pull it off, juggling between home and office, cooking food, taking care of her family, achieving great milestones in office and being a great team-player. However, when it comes to bagging recognition, men often overstep women. In a male-dominated society, for a woman to have a promising career trajectory is quite a challenge. In conclusion, I would like to bring light to the sad situation that women find themselves in. After doing all the legwork, the least they deserve is a promotion they earned with their hard work. I am therefore of the opinion that companies should reserve a quota for women, especially for senior roles, thus encouraging more women to step forward knowing their effort is not going in vain.