Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

Money is a vital component in everyone's life. Some people contend that workers working in hospitals and schools are valued less than the workers working in the entertainment industry. In my perspective, I agree with this contention, and believe that community indeed undervalues both teachers and medical professionals. However, questioning the pay scale of people working in large corporations is unethical. It is evident that doctors and teachers play a paramount role in the community. Yet, most of them have a salary that is below the average national income. For instance, when a nation is stuck with an epidemic or a pandemic, doctors and nurses take responsibility and become the Frontline workers saving millions of lives. However, our community does not value this sacrifice, and, as a result, most of the health care workers work with either less wage or no wage. Similarly, teachers empower our younger generation with knowledge, values, and discipline. Even though they are important in shaping the future of a nation, teachers’ contribution is never appreciated in civilization. In that sense, the salary of individuals should be based on the contributions that individuals render to society. Despite the above argument, critics argue that film actors and large corporation bosses earn huge sums of money for work that is not important to public. Although, health care workers and teachers deserve a raise, comparing the wages of sectors which are completely different is incorrect. For example, the entertainment industry is worth million of dollars and large amount of returns are from the public itself. People often watch movies, dramas, and listen to songs for relaxation. Furthermore, people are not aware of the struggles and hardships that actors face behind the screen to earn huge sums of money. Hence, hospitals and schools cannot be compared with profit making organizations whose sole purpose is only to provide entertainment. In conclusion, the criteria for income should be based on the contributions people make in the culture. The government should support such workers and provide them with certain benefits that will help association to value their jobs.