Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Selecting the right candidates for the jobs offered is not an easy task, and it often requires extensive work such as data collection, screenings, scrutiny and interviewing before actually employing the employees. The interview is the most effective and fast way of finding the suitable candidates according to the nature of a job. Some other methods such as comprehensive written test, practical test and different scenarios could also help in this regard. I believe that interview is most successful and widely used technique to select the appropriate employees. There is no doubt that interview plays a pivotal role in the recruitment process and has become a mandatory constituent of the candidate selection process. Normally, interviews, help employers to judge the expertise and knowledge of different candidates about the subject. Some other traits such as confidence, personality, intelligence and communication skills could only be evaluated through the interview. In addition, this is the most convenient and rapid way that could exercise without spending huge expenses and time. However, sometimes candidates are unable to perform and express according to their strengths due to shyness and lack of confidence. By this way, employers fail to hire potential and knowledgeable persons. Other methods of choosing employees also significantly help at this time. Written test, practical demonstration of skills and making strategies in a given situation is exceptional ways of knowing their strengths and weaknesses and are extensively used in institutions such as education, agriculture and army. To sum up, I would like to say that the interview is commonly exercised in contemporary societies because of its effectiveness and higher success rate in selecting the right employees. Other ways of choosing employee are also helpful, but demand more costs and time for their setup.