Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the role of women in society has changed to a greater extent and their contribution is increasingly important. However, it is noticeable that higher positions in enterprises are still managed by men, although women account for more than half of the workforce in developed countries. While some people claim that companies must be entailed to allot a fixed percentage of these posts to women, I personally disagree with this idea because hiring should be done on the basis of experience, skills and qualification and reservation for females snatch the opportunity for talented male employees. Firstly, workforce is the strength of the company and people are hired in order for the betterment of the firm. Recruiting should not be based on candidates' sex, but qualification and aptitude. An unsuitable applicant for the company, regardless of the gender can can affect profit, productivity and public image of an association. For instance, in my brother’s workplace, a woman was recruited in a higher position only because she was a relative of the owner. In a few months, the management had to replace her with a more competent employee. Therefore, an enterprise should always choose the best people in order to develop its operation. If a female aspirant seems more promising or if an existing female employee has excellent capabilities, there should not be any problem in recruiting or promoting a woman in a higher position. However important posts in a company should not be reserved for women only. Secondly, reserving places just for one gender creates a disparity among the workers. If a certain number of positions are reserved only for females then there are higher possibilities that the deserved and qualified male applicant will be rejected just because of his sex. Moreover, this will lead to gender discrimination against men. For example, if there is not a suitable female employee available, but there is a male competitor for the particular job then too reservation will force the firm to fulfil the percentage even though it may be to their detriment. Hence, it takes away the chances from deserved males. Finally, in conclusion, I strongly believe that employees should be recruited according to their expertise and talent and not because of their sex. It is therefore recommended that women who want to play important roles in an organisation should attempt to gain higher qualifications, skills.