Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

It is argued by some people that companies need to allocate a certain percentage of high-level positions to women workforce. The main reason behind this thinking is that nowadays, in most of the developed countries top-level positions are occupied by men although female constitutes more than half of the workforce. This essay does not agree with that argument because it has many negative consequences. This essay will firstly discuss how fixing the percentage of workforce for women leads to the lower level of a company’s growth and secondly, discuss the fact that females cannot do all types of job. Companies should not distribute a fixed percentage of high-level positions to female because these positions must be filled up with people, who have merits. In other words, organizations should first look at the capability and intelligence during the time of recruitment and promotion rather than the gender of candidates. If companies do not take action based on the merit, then incompetent people cannot help to achieve companies' goal and maybe the cause of failure. This can be illustrated by the fact that the Bengal Meat company fixed the percentage of the workforce to women in 2009 and faced a drastic fall in sales. Companies should not allocate a certain proportion of the top positions for women because the female cannot work in every job sector. There are some industries, where lots of physical industriousness are required that can be only possible by men. For instance, in the mining industry, from top to bottom level employees work in the field and due to the nature of the job no woman is interested to do work in this industry. In conclusion, this essay does not support the idea that companies should allocate a percentage of high-level positions to female because this decision can lead to the decline in the company’s growth and female cannot cope up in every workplace.