Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coil and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Other people disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

As many countries around the world are developing and modernising, there is more consumerism and a corresponding need for oil, coal and gas. Therefore, some people believe that imposing high taxes on these will be helpful in declining the consumption wheras others opine that, it is not only the right solution as it suffer many poor people. I strongly believe that, It is crucial to increase taxes to decline the consumption and saving the environment. Firstly, the fact that, the gas and oil has become significant source for the better standard of living in highly developed countries and also it helps to provide some basic necessities such as electricity and transportation to the people around the rural ares area. Therfore, it is obvious that increasing taxes definitely would affect the life of the deprivated people. For instance, imposing taxes would not only end up with oil, coal and gas price. Futhermore, gradually it will reflects in the every basic needs such as electricity, busfare, rice and so on, for the consumers. Conversely, some people who are concerned about the environment proposes the idea of increasing the taxes on these, in order to save the world and the high consumption may lead to jeopardising many beautiful landscapes. Already there is a shortage in these sources and thus make the countries to think about, untouched areas such as the Norh pole to get more oil and gas. For instance, an area, all countries would like to drill is the Antartica, home of many glaciers, and animals including Penguin, Seal, Polar bear. Drilling here would harm the habitat and in case of any spillage would be disatrous to the environment. Thus, taxes would be helpful to reduce the consumption as well as saving the world. In conclusion, although, increase in taxes would affects some people in the rural areas, I firmly believe that, it is necessary to reduce consumerism and eventually saving the natural resources and habitats.