Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

In numerous countries, more than half of the companies' workforce is comprised of women but the majority of executive positions are taken by men. Many believe that a percentage for top-level ranks should be filled by women. In my opinion, however, gender should not be the basis for one's promotion, which may slow a business' growth, but should be from objective qualifications, hence my disagreement. I will discuss the reasons in detail in the following essay. The basis for earning a high-rank position should be objectively justified. Qualifications should be specifically enumerated and then be attained before one can earn the highly sought placement. One's strengths and weaknesses are not gender-specific so an individual's knowledge, skills and attitude should be the things to be considered. This will give everyone a fair chance and in turn, they will be more motivated to show their capabilities in the full potential that can greatly contribute to the production and revenue of the company. For instance, Google has a ladder-to-rank approach in promotions that every employee has to fulfil before moving up to the top. To make a mandatory position for women for the sake of fulfilling a percentage may hinder a company's full potential. A more deserving and abled individual may be disregarded in favour of a less skilled female counterpart and vice versa. This will dishearten employees and may make them indolent. Furthermore, competitiveness among the same gender will be more prominent because the company-wide selection is not implemented. This may cause more tension and will hugely affect their performance. In conclusion, clear attributes should be the basis if a person should take a chief rank and not because of one's sex. The ramification for this type of selection process will affect in great level the productivity and progress of a company.