Some people think that employers should give staff at least four weeks holiday per year to improve their job performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, employees suffer from chronic stress and anxiety due to overwhelming workload. That’s why offering a long vacation to workers is believed to promote their performance at workplaces. I partly agree with this point of view; while this solution helps staff be more inspired to work, its potential drawbacks could not be ignored. To begin with, prolonging holidays has significant positive impacts on the workers’ efficiency. First, enjoying a long break allows them to rejuvenate. Evidently, nowadays, due to excessive work pressure, many employees compromise their private time to perform urgent tasks. Consequently, work -life imbalance for a length of time would make them suffer from both mental and physical illnesses. Therefore, long vacations enable them to stay away from work, reduce stress, and revitalize them for work. Furthermore, benefits such as a long holiday would enhance the employees’ loyalty to the corporations; as a result, the staff will be more willing to dedicate their lives to their job and have better performance. However, providing extended vacations would bring latent disadvantages to individuals as well as companies. First, people tend to procrastinate after a long break. To be more specific, when employees are familiar with the holidays’ schedule, returning to work with a strict timetable would be a nightmare that makes them feel stressed and exhausted. Moreover, the interruption of the manufacturing process for a long time would reduce the productivity and performance of the firms. In fact, many companies face economic crisis during long festival or summer breaks. In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that a four-week-holiday somewhat could enhance the workers’ efficiency; however, is not an optimum measure.